- 850-983-5200 ext. 2264
P.O. Box 929
Milton, FL 32572-0929
8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
(closed on weekends and state holidays)
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Obtaining a Birth Certificate
Birth certificates are often needed for entrance to school, voter registration, marriage, passports, veterans' benefits, public assistance, social security benefits and obtaining a driver’s license.
Certified certificates of birth that include the State File Number are registered and available in our office within 3 to 7 days of your child's birth. These can be obtained by authorized individuals with proper identification (ID):
- Individuals who are at least 18 years old
- Either parent named on the certificate
- Lawyer representing the registrant or parent
- Legal guardian with guardianship papers
- Anyone with a notarized affidavit and proper ID
You can request a copy of a birth certificate by coming to our office in person, by mail, or online through VitalChek®.
In Person at Our Milton Office
If you come in person, you will need to:
- Fill out a Florida Birth Record Application
- Have proper ID (driver's license, state issued ID card, passport or military ID) with you
The fee is $14 for each certificate.
Birth Certificates by Mail
Requests for birth certificates by mail must include:
- Full name as it appears on the certificate
- Date of birth
- City or county of birth
- Full names of both parents including the mother's maiden name
- Signature of the parent or the individual if over the age of 18
- Mailing address where the record is to be mailed
- Copy of the front and back of a valid photo ID
- A fee of $14.00 for each copy
- A fee of $2.00 for shipping and handling
Click here for a Florida Birth Record Application (PDF-54 KB)
Mail requests to:
Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 929
Milton, FL 32572-0929
Birth Record Amendments
If the birth record contains errors, an amendment is needed to correct the record. Depending on the type of correction and the age of the registrant, documentary evidence may be required to support the correction. If the correction is to the name of a minor child, the signatures of both parents, if listed on the original birth record are required. An Affidavit of Amendment must be completed, signed, and notarized.
A non-refundable fee of $20.00 which includes one certification of the record is required by Florida law.
Click here for the Application for Amending a Florida Birth Record (PDF-303KB)
Click here for the Affidavit of Amendment (PDF-36KB)
Click here for Application Instructions (PDF-46KB)
Commemorative Birth Certificates
The State of Florida also issues commemorative birth certificates, signed by the Governor and State Registrar of Vital Statistics. The certificates contain calligraphy style printing, gold embossed state seals, and are suitable for framing and preserving as family heirlooms. The commemorative certificates are mailed encased in cardboard shields to ensure protection. Several different styles are available. Please visit the State Office of Vital Statistics for more information.
Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
In 2006, Florida's governor signed into law legislation that allows for the issuance of a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth. This law, section 382.0085, Florida Statutes, is known as Katherine's Law. Florida is the 14th state to implement such a law.
County offices cannot issue this certificate. Please contact the State Office of Vital Statistics website or call 904-359-6900 ext. 9000 for more information.
Putative Father Registry
The purpose of the Putative Father Registry is to permit a man alleging to be the biological father of a child to assert his parentage, independent of the mother, and preserve his rights as a parent.
A Florida Putative Father Registry claim is made without the consent or involvement of the mother. The claim is filed with the registry, but the father's name is not added to the birth record. The purpose of the registry is to permit a man alleging to be the unmarried biological father of a child to preserve his right to notice and consent in the event of an adoption.
Related forms can be obtained at the Florida Department of Health in Santa Rosa County. Questions regarding the Putative Father Registry can be answered by calling the Adoption Unit at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9001 or by visiting Florida's Putative Father Registry.
*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.