LEGAL.

Smokers are not a protected class under
any state or federal law.

Smoke-free policies do not infringe on the legal rights
of individuals. Smoke-free policies address smoking
behavior only, and do not prohibit smokers from living
in your community.

Smokers don’t have legal protection but
people with chronic health problems do, and may
file complaints under the Fair Housing Act or the

Americans with Disabilities Act.
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DESIRABLE.

85.5 percent of adults in Florida do not smoke. Four out
of five nonsmokers would prefer living in a smoke-free
community.

9,000 smoking-related fires occur in

residential buildings each year. Smoking-

related fires are the leading cause of fire deaths,
accounting for 17 percent of fire deaths in residential
buildings.

Smoking-related fires in residential buildings result in
an average of approximately 365 deaths, 925 injuries,
and $326 million in property loss each year.
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Four out of five nonsmokers
would prefer living in a
smoke-free community



ENFORCEABLE.

Property managers who have implemented
no-smoking policies in their communities

have generally found it much easier than they -

had imagined.

Smoke-free policies can be enforced the
same as any other rule or policy (pets, noise,
excessive trash). Smoke-free policies are
largely self-enforcing and complaint-based.

Enforcing a no-smoking policy is less of

a headache than mediating disputes between .

smokers and nonsmokers without a policy
in place.

Implementing 100 percent smoke-free
environments is the only effective way to
protect the population from the harmful
effects of exposure to secondhand smoke.

of property managers surveyed said

a smoke-free policy contributes to a

stable or growing occupancy rate

Tobacco free
Florida _

GOOD BUSINESS.

A smoke-free apartment can be turned over
more quickly, reducing down time and getting
it re-rented sooner.

Turning over a smoke-free apartment costs
considerably less than one that has been

smoked in.
Cleaning a Smoke- Cleaning and
Free Two-Bedroom, Removing Smoke
Two-Bath Residue from a
Apartment Two-Bedroom,
Two-Bath
General cleaning: Apartment

e Appliances

o Clean and sanitize
LG HVAC, replace

* Carpet ducts

Paint Remove cabinetry,
Average cost: dl‘ywall, ﬂooring
$570 Clean, treat, seal
all that remains
Install replacement
materials,
including padding
and carpet
Paint walls and
ceiling
Replace
appliances

Average cost:
$7,025

.com

Source: Florida Apartment Association research




How do | apply for FAA
Smoke-Free Certification?
To apply for certification, send the completed

application form, document checklist, and supporting
documents by one of these methods:

Mail to:

FAA Smoke-Free Certification

200 East Robinson Street, Suite 900
Orlando, FL 32801

Email to:

smokefree @faahq.org

Fax to:
407-960-2911

Multifamily Housing
Gertification

How do | obtain an FAA
Smoke-Free Certification
application?

You may obtain an application for Smoke-Free
Certification and a document checklist on our website,

. www.faahqg.org/smoke-free-housing

How can | make residents,
potential residents, guests,
and staff aware of the
apartment community’s
FAA Smoke-Free
Certification?

FAA will provide materials to display in your leasing
office or clubhouse, as well as a smoke-free-certified
logo to place on your website and printed marketing
materials. A list of communities with current smoke-free
certifications will be placed on the FAA website,
www.faahgq.org/smoke-free-communities

What are the different levels of FAA Smoke-Free Certification

and what do they mean?
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Breathe easy everywhere:
No smoking throughout the
entire community

Breathe easy where you Breathe easy in your home:

live and play: No smoking No smoking inside units or

indoors and within 25 feet of indoor common areas or on
buildings and amenities balconies or patios




How do | implement

a smoke-free policy to
receive FAA Smoke-Free
Certification?

To be certified as smoke-free, a community must have
a) a lease or contract that prohibits residents and
guests from smoking in the areas specified by the level
of certification and b) a policy that prohibits employees
from smoking in the areas specified by the level of
certification. Communities that use the NAA Click &
Lease have access to a no-smoking addendum that

is compliant with the FAA Smoke-Free Multifamily
Housing Program.

In addition, FAA is working in partnership with the
Florida Department of Health and Bureau of Tobacco
Free Florida to provide resources for property owners
and managers to adopt smoke-free policies.

Email smokefree @faahq.org for assistance.

What are the benefits
of FAA Smoke-Free
Certification?

FAA's Smoke-Free Multifamily Housing Certification
demonstrates your community’s commitment to
providing a healthy living environment for residents
and their guests. With your paid certification, you

will receive an acrylic display for your leasing office

or clubhouse, a window decal detailing the year of
certification, and unlimited use of the FAA Smoke-Free
Certification logo for your print and digital marketing.
FAA will include your smoke-free certified community
on the FAA website and will report it to the state
Department of Health and Tobacco Free Florida, which
provides referrals to prospective residents seeking
smoke-free living.
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How do | enforce a smoke-
free policy to keep my FAA
Smoke-Free Certification?

A smoke-free policy should be enforced in the same
way other policies on the property are enforced (e.g.,
pets, noise, trash, etc.). Owners and managers

of smoke-free communities have found that their
smoke-free policies are largely self-enforcing and
complaint-based, like noise or pet policies. Your
lease/contract and employee policy should specify
that violations may result in termination of lease or
employment.

If my community enacts a
smoke-free policy, is that
discriminatory?

No. A smoke-free policy only restricts smoking
behavior; it does not disallow smokers from living in
your apartment community. It is legal for owners to
restrict smoking anywhere on their property, including
inside apartment units. Asking applicants if they smoke
may constitute discrimination against smokers; consult
a legal professional for more information.

Is there a fee associated
with FAA Smoke-Free
Certification?

There is a $95 annual fee, payable to FAA, by check
or credit card, as indicated at the bottom of the
application.
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