Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content

COVID-19 School Exposure Guidelines

COVID-19 Questions

  •  850-564-2307

    Mailing Address

    P.O. Box 929 

    Milton, FL 32572-0929

Please use the guidelines below to determine whether or not your child can attend school or if they need to be quarantined due to a COVID-19 diagnosis/exposure. As long as your child remains asymptomatic they can attend school-sponsored and community activities.

Notice of Emergency Rule - Protocols for Controlling COVID-19 in School Settings Rule NO: 64DER21-15.

Protocols - Symptomatic or COVID-19 Positive 

Schools will ensure students experiencing any symptoms consistent of COVID-19 or who have received a positive diagnostic test for COVID-19 shall not attend school, school-sponsored activities or be on school property until:

  1. The student receives a negative diagnostic COVID-19 test and is asymptomatic.


  2. Ten days have passed since the onset of symptoms or positive test result, the student has had no fever for 24 hours and the student’s other symptoms are improving.


  3. The student receives written permission to return to school from a medical doctor licensed under chapter 458, an osteopathic physician licensed under chapter 459, or an advanced registered nurse practitioner licensed under chapter 464.

Protocols - Students Exposed to COVID-19 

Schools will allow parents or legal guardians the authority to choose how their child receives education after having direct contact with an individual who received a positive diagnostic test for COVID-19 may choose one of the following options:

  1. Allow the student to attend school, school sponsored activities, or be on school property, without restrictions or disparate treatment, so long as the student remains asymptomatic.


  2. Quarantine the student for a period not to exceed seven days from the date of last direct contact with an individual that is positive for COVID-19.

  3. If the student becomes symptomatic following direct contact with an individual that has tested positive for COVID-19 or tests positive for COVID-19, the procedures set forth for symptomatic students and COVID-19 positive students shall apply. Rulemaking Authority 1003.22(3) FS. Law Implemented 1003.22(3) FS. History-New.

This rule takes effect upon being filed with the department of state unless a later time and date is specified in the rule.

Protocols Students with Prior COVID-19 Infection 

  1. Positive case withing the previous 90 days or fully vaccinated. No action required.

  2. Symptomatic-Refer to guidance from Symptomatic or positive case.