- 850-983-5200 ext. 2264
P.O. Box 929
Milton, FL 32572-0929
8 a.m - 4 p.m.
(Closed on weekends and state holidays)
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
The loss of a loved one can be a very trying time in a person's life that can bring change and uncertainty. Difficult but important decisions often need to be made during this time. Some of these decisions involve matters of estate, taxes, wills, deeds, and insurance. Death certificates, also called death records, are used to help resolve some of these issues.
In March of 2012, Florida certified death records became available electronically. The Florida Department of Health in Santa Rosa County (DOH-Santa Rosa) currently offers certified copies of death records for all Florida deaths from 2009 to the present. Death records prior to 2009 must be obtained through the State Office of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville, FL. Please contact the Office of Vital Statistics website or call (904) 359-6900 for more information.
Obtaining a Death Certificate
Death certificates that do not show the cause of death are public record and can be obtained by anyone for the use of probate, tax, title, deeds, etc.
To protect the privacy of sensitive information and to prevent identify theft, cause of death on a death certificate are not public record. Access to these certificates is restricted by state law. Death certificates that show the cause of death can be used for personal records, insurance purposes, or legal action and may be obtained only by:
- Immediate family
- Lawyers representing the immediate family
- Executors of estate
- Insurance companies or anyone requiring a certificate to pay a policy or death benefit on the decedent.
- Proof of eligibility is required for all non-family members.
Requesting a Death Certificate
Death certificates may be obtained through the Vital Statistics office at DOH-Santa Rosa in person, by mail, or online through VitalChek®. Requests for copies of death certificates by mail must include the following:
- Full name of the deceased
- Date of death
- City or county of death
- Your relationship to the deceased. Proof of eligibility is required for all non-family members.
- Purpose for which a copy is needed
- Signature of the person making the request
- Mailing address where the record is to be mailed
- Copy of the front and back of a valid photo ID
- A fee of $11.00 for each copy
- A fee of $2.00 for shipping and handling
Click here for a Santa Rosa County Death Record Application (PDF-54 KB)
Mail requests to:
Office of Vital Statistics
PO Box 929
Milton, FL 32572-0929
*Note: This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.