How Much is Smoking Costing You?
Is your business smoke-free? The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) puts a $3,391 price tag on each employee who smokes: $1,760 in lost productivity and $1,623 in excess medical expenditures annually. Making your business smoke-free can save you money!
Check out this interactive Smoking Cost Calculator from Tobacco Free Florida!
- In Florida, the annual direct costs to the economy attributable to smoking were in excess of $19.6 billion, including workplace productivity losses of $4.4 billion, premature death losses of $7.9 billion and direct medical expenditures of $7.2 billion.
- The Florida Medicaid program covers $1.2 billion of these smoke-related medical expenditures.
- Annual personal healthcare expenditures related to smoking have declined $1 billion or 11.3 percent.
- Since the Bureau of Tobacco Prevention Program (BTPP) was reinstated, reductions in adult smoking prevalence resulted in a total estimated savings of $4.2 billion in personal health care expenditures in Florida.
- Expenditures by the BTPP created a total of 1,291 jobs in Florida generating $37.5 million in total labor income and $95.6 million in total expenditures impact (2009).
Why be smoke-free?
Many insurance companies offer substantial discounts on life, disability, and medical insurance policies for non-smokers. Further, having a smoke-free workplace may enable a business to negotiate lower fire and property insurance premiums.
We Can Help
We will gladly provide signage for your business to indicate it is a smoke-free place. Additionally, the Health Department has literature about smoking and offers FREE smoking cessation classes for anyone interested in quitting the tobacco habit - smokers and spitters welcome!
If you would like more information on becoming a smoke-free business or would like help with composing a smoke-free policy, call the Health Department at (850) 983-5200 and we will help you do it at no cost!
Florida Clean Indoor Air Act - information on smoke free laws and how to report a violation
Florida Tobacco Cessation Alliance - additional resources to achieve your smoke-free business goals